Welcome to Magura

"  TOGETHER WE CAN DO MORE"

" TOGETHER WE CAN DO MORE"

Magura Cultural Center offers a modern and soothing atmosphere for all of you interested in sharing, learning and improving your lives and those of the others. Here you can sign up for or teach a class, attend or lead a workshop, meet people, make new friends and much more. Magura is an open community center eager to share its heritage, looking for new experiences and ideas and always flexible to accommodate a project which make us a better society. 
Check out our calendar often as classes are added as soon as they become available, sign up for our newsletter to receive updates and reminders for the upcoming events and never hesitate to call us to set up a meeting to discuss your ideas ...

 
 

 

 
 

CALENDAR

 
 

 

67773160_2370148569910679_2036912721441587200_n.jpg

HER DAUGHTER'S MOTHER

Author Daniela Petrova appears at Magura Cultural Center for a book signing event celebrating her debut suspense novel.

Books available for purchase and signing. For more information, call 1.224.800.1538‬

** Named Best Beach Read of the Year by O, The Oprah Magazine
** Named Most Anticipated Book of Summer by CrimeReads
** Winner of AudioFile’s July Earphones Award for exceptional audiobook
** Named Best Beach Read of 2019 by New York Post
** Named Best New Book to Read in June by HelloGiggles
** Named June Reads for the Rest of Us by Ms. Magazine
** Named Best New Thriller and Mystery in June by CrimeReads
** Named Best New Book This Summer by Popsugar
** Named Best Debut Thriller in June by CrimeReads
***
Daniela Petrova grew up behind the Iron Curtain in Sofia, Bulgaria. After the fall of Communism, she moved to New York where she earned a BA in Philosophy from Columbia University and an MA in Counseling for Mental Health and Wellness from New York University. She is a recipient of an Artist Fellowship in Writing from the Massachusetts Cultural Council. Her stories, poems and essays have appeared in many publications, including The New York Times, The Washington Post, Los Angeles Review of Books, Salon, and Marie Claire. She lives and writes in New York City. Her Daughter's Mother is her first novel.
***
She befriended the one woman she was never supposed to meet. Now she's the key suspect in her disappearance. For fans of The Perfect Mother and The Wife Between Us comes a gripping psychological suspense debut about two strangers, one incredible connection, and the steep price of obsession.

IMG_0014.jpeg

Magura Bulgarian Collective Space presents Spring Reboot Workshop with Doychin Karshovski - owner of Want2goFit LLC, Personal Wellness Solutions and author of the book 401 FITNESS.
APRIL 6th
Workshop schedule
11:00 - 11:45
* Wake up your body and mind - a yoga/fit fusion work out.
11:50 - 12:30
* Simplify your health and fitness
Breathing Exercises: Pranayama simple training routines.
The pillars of physical wellbeing: Move, Eat, Rest.
Sleeping Patterns and how to improve sleeping quality. What is BioHack?
12:30 - 13:00
* Is Keto a diet?
Tricks and tricks to improve your health, optimize your weight, become more energetic and happy.
What will be demonstrated?
Breathing exercises, fitness and yoga exercises. Please, bring a yoga math.
Self-testing for glucose and ketones in your blood for those expressed interest will be provided. Also just to keep in mind a single test and a short talk over the results will take 7 - 8 minutes per person. PREREGISTRATION is required!!! ☎️ 1.224.800.1538
What you will get?
Personal plan for daily exercises.
A signed copy of 401 Fitness
***To get even more out of Doychin's workshop please answer the following questions:
Name
Date of Birth
What are your three main fitness/wellness concerns?
What is your current fitness program?
Do you follow a specific diet plan?
How do you manage stress?
All subscribers answered to the above questions will be eligible to one on one consultation with Doychin. ($150 value) Send your answers to Trainer@Want2goFit.com
***
HEALTH BENEFITS of KNITTING WORKSHOP 🧶
with Daniella Karshovski
Good for beginners or advanced knitters.
“I am looking forward to meet you all and to introduce you to the magic of knitting. If this is a good match for you, it will be a love forever.
We will start with introduction about knitting, different types of yarns, needles, and accessories.
For the beginners level we will work on how to choose your first project, how to start it, and of course to keep working on it.
For more advanced knitters, please bring your current project and your questions, and we will try to work on it together. Hopefully I will have the answers, or maybe we will solve it together in a nice conversation over our favorite hobby.
For all levels, please bring your own yarn and needles.” D. Karshovski
***Is knitting meditative?
Please, read the article and we will discuss it.
http://www.florencewitt.org/knitting-therapy/

***
$25 first session
$20 second session
$40 two sessions
$15 book only
Tickets: ☎️1.224.800.1538

 

67436054_2654830747869121_237179239525253120_n.jpg

You're invited to join AUBG's Interim President, Dr. Evans, Director of Development, Ms. Macheva, and Recruiter, Ms. Harvey at our AUBG Evening!

Every year AUBG travels to over 10 countries to host our AUBG Evenings where prospective students can learn more about our amazing University and hear directly from our international alumni!

For any questions about the event, please contact Ms. Harvey at sharvey@aubg.edu

This AUBG Evening is made possible through the help and support of Ms. Teodora Boteva, Head of the Commercial and Economic Office with the Consulate General of Republic of Bulgaria.

IMG_0015.jpeg

THERE is coming to Chicago April, 6th! We're thrilled to be hosted by the Magura Bulgarian Collective Space!

You will have a chance to meet and talk with director Bogdan in person at the showing. Of course, you don't have to be Bulgarian to feel THERE. The film is with English subtitles and speaks to all cultures.
April 6th @ 7PM
415 W. Golf Rd. #7 Arlington Heights, IL 60005
color, 60 min with English subtitles

Tickets are on SALE NOW http://magurabcs.com/new-products/nrwn9hrihkl6jkiykbcby37uurzg0g
$12 in advance
$15 at the door

Here is what our San Francisco audience were saying after a sold out showing https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LPUScbSP0BU

Find out more about the film at Filmabee and/or www.filmabee.com/there

Find out more about our hosts here http://magurabcs.com
See you at the movies, Chicago!


MAGURA CULTURAL CENTER proudly announces their partnership with ROSE VALLEY THEATRE GROUP - the newest addition to Chicago’s thriving theatre community.

Zlatomir Moldovanski
Under the artistic direction of Bulgarian-American actor and director Zlatomir Moldovanski and team of American actors and directors: Bernard Balbot, Logan Hulick, and Reginald Robinson, Rose Valley is an assembled collective of multi-disciplinary professional theatre artists committed to bridging the international divide by adapting and producing plays by underrepresented voices abroad and within the US. It is their goal to cultivate relationships with favored international playwrights in an effort to expose American audiences to their canon. A part of Rose Valley’s mission is to fill the void or lack thereof Bulgarian work on Chicago’s stages. The plays that appear in Bulgarian theatre are truly groundbreaking, which is why each year the theater’s season will include a play by an award-winning Bulgarian playwright, translated into English and performed by a cast of American actors.
The inaugural production will be 2009 “Askeerwinner (the highest theatrical honor in Bulgaria) Sunday Evening by Zachary Karabashliev, set to premiere in Chicago in October of 2019. This will be the theatre’s first project in partnership with team Magura as producers. Location and exact dates will be announced soon. While the idea behind this initiative was inspired by Bulgarian theatre, they want to make it clear that Rose Valley is not exclusively a Bulgarian company. In addition to their annual Bulgarian production, the rest of work focuses on plays from similarly undiscovered theatrical traditions from around the world and the United States. Rose Valley welcomes texts from communities and playwrights who haven’t found a platform, until now. The team is driven by their commitment to this city and this art form and its ability to bring cultures together. Magura Cultural Center and Rose Valley Theatre Group are thankful for the support of the Bulgarian Consulate General of Chicago and Consul General, the Honorable Dr. Ivan Anchev.


PAST EVENTS

 

 
IMG-1479.JPG

June 7, 2018 at 7pm
in DePaul University

June 8,2018 at 7pm
in Arlington Heights Library


Magura presents Chicago screenings of the documentary the CHILDREN OF THE SILENT REVOLUTION.  A special screening of the documentary Children of the Silent Revolution in Chicago. The movie follows the lives of a group of classmates from Bulgaria over a period of two decades, spanning the transition from communism to democracy/capitalism in their country. As one of the circle of friends, the filmmaker also shares her personal story and quest for happiness during the past 20 years. The film was shot in Bulgaria, the U.S., England, Norway and Ireland and had its world premier at the Sofia International Film Festival.
The screening was followed by a Q&A with the filmmaker and an after-party. Official film website:  www.viktoripictures.com


 
26994020_1999363820322491_5681091590017902247_n.jpg

What could be better than a Saturday night filled with fun, beauty, love, warmth and a little bit of magic?
You are cordially invited to experience Mandalas N' Mantras Fashion Show introducing their NEW Collection of Mindful Apparel made with Love and Awareness. 
This clothing line is exclusive, premium quality, beautiful, fashionable apparel for men and women, including organic blends. Enjoy the Fashion Show, listen to the beautiful magic of live violin, get a complimentary intuitive reading with a Numerologist or Angel Card Reader, have natural gemstones and crystals selected just for you based on your astrology and vibrations, win prizes and have lots of fun! Enjoy complimentary wine and yummy h'orderves and win awesome prizes in a raffle.
First 20 guests - receive a GIFT.  
* % of sales’ proceeds were donated to a non-for-profit organization "I can too" helping support children in Bulgaria with special needs and disabilities.
Saturday, February 10 7:00 PM-10:00 PM @ Magura Bulgarian Cultural Center located at: 415 W. Golf Road #7
Arlington Heights, IL 6005 , ☎️1.224.800.1538